John Wainwright & Co worked Landslip quarry between 1902 and 1910. It was an unpopular quarry due to the noise and dust, but mainly to the damage that was occurring from landslips. It was argued that the Gorge was particularly iconic, being cited ‘as one of the greatest ornaments in the west of England’ and secondly there were very many alternative sources of stone locally in less sensitive areas. By 1907 steam drilling machines were working the bedrock. The County Council acknowledged the damage and resolved to urge the land owners to close the operations. The National Trust announced the purchase of a part of the Gorge from the Marquis of Bath and in 1912 obtained assurances from the other landowners that they would not permit further quarrying on their land. Quarrying continued at Black Rock where the Burrington Oolite was extracted. A small plant with a crusher and barrel screen (sieve) were operating here until about 1930. Black powder was used to break off large blocks which were then barred, wedged and dragged out.
Historical notes: https://www.bgs.ac.uk/mendips/more_info/west_mendip_quarries_history.htm